Microsoft, I smell a dirty rat!

cute-rat-maxresdefaultMicrosoft, it’s time we had a little talk. Let me set this up with a little story about something that happened to me this morning:

I could not use your default photo app today in Windows 10. I wanted to print photos, and the program worked for only two photos before it quit instead of bringing up the print dialog. I decided to search for options, and instead of going through a convoluted process to restore the Windows Photo Viewer I liked in Windows 7 – shame on you for replacing it with its poor cousin, the Photos app – I decided to install an entirely different photo viewing program.

When I installed said program, I chose to change default app settings for multiple file types, through the install window. I was not happy to see that Windows 10 decided to change those settings back without giving me a confirmation box to see what I preferred. Instead, I received notifications that Windows 10 had restored the settings to Windows programs.

I know, I know, you’re going to say that if spyware or malware changed my defaults without my permission, it’s in my best interest for Windows 10 to keep track and protect me from this nasty software. However, your argument fails to take into account that sometimes I will want to change settings, and I don’t appreciate¬†Windows 10 getting in my way and forcing me to change those settings twice to be sure they’re the way I want them. (I encountered something similar in Windows 7 when Windows updates would suddenly have also changed some of my customised settings without confirming if I wanted that. Then I’d have to go back and fix them to my liking.)

Enough with the power struggle, Microsoft. Give the people what they want and need: more control over their own machines. You may own Windows 10, but you don’t have the right to tell its users how to set up their installations. I may just want to go back to using Linux primarily if you keep up this silly stuff!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

