Review: Catching Heat (Janice Cantore)

catching heat coverI’ve been looking forward to the last book in Abby and Luke’s story and hoped it would leave me with a feeling of contentment, that the series was the correct length for the overall story and that all was wrapped up just right. I also hoped the resolution of the cold case that introduced these characters to each other would also lead to an interesting romance subplot as well. While some elements of the novel did satisfy, I’m disappointed to say that others left me longing for a tighter story, one that didn’t feel rushed and chaotic.

Even though it made sense that Abby and Luke would be busy with another cold case throughout the book and there would be new characters taking up their time rather than a singular focus on the cold case that was so personal to them both, I felt that there was too much going on in this tale. That busyness got in the way of the parts of the story I was really interested in, namely the Triple Seven case (which claimed the lives of Abby’s parents and Luke’s uncle) and the potential romance between Abby and Luke that had been brewing since the first novel.

The other storylines could have been intriguing on their own, and maybe if they were covered in a separate book, I’d have enjoyed the ins and outs of the investigation. Here, however, they detracted from the “proper” tale. All turned out well enough in the end, with loose ends wrapped up, but I didn’t get enough time and reflection from the characters with respect to the case I really cared about – and that romance, of course, which I have to admit was one reason I stuck with the series…

I’m still a fan of Janice Cantore, no change on that score, but I’m hoping that future novels will give the characters room to breathe and wrap their minds around all that’s happening so that I experience the same as I read.

Book description: Twenty-seven years after the deaths of Detective Abby Hart’s parents, she’s desperate to find the proof that will put the mastermind—the governor’s wife—behind bars. When she joins a newly formed task force and teams up with PI Luke Murphy, Abby is sent to San Luis Obispo to work the cold case of a murdered college student. Realizing their investigation will bring them near the town where Alyssa Rollins grew up, Abby decides to do a little digging of her own into the Triple Seven fire.

Luke is eager to help Abby close the books on a case they both have personal stakes in. But as she uncovers long-held secrets, Abby stumbles into an explosive situation, and Luke fears that her obsession may prove deadly.

*This ebook was provided by the publisher for review purposes, but all opinions are my own.*

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Reviews

Leave a Reply

