Review: Ben-Hur (Carol Wallace)

benhur coverThis retelling of the original novel was very good. I didn’t remember much of the movie I must have seen in my youth (at least bits and pieces, anyway, as Mum was watching it) so I came to the story with mostly fresh eyes and an open mind. I found it very compelling, both in setting and in characters. My only complaint might be that it ended too soon for my liking!

Also extremely interesting to me was the historical information at the end of the novel, as Wallace included a short biography of her great-great-grandfather and the impact of his 1880 novel. I have newfound respect for the book and all the work that went into making it.

I’m really excited to see the new movie (releasing August 19th) and I’m glad I decided to request the book to finally experience the story of Ben-Hur. I’m betting I can find the Charlton Heston film at my library too!

Book Description:

As one of the bestselling stories of all time, Lew Wallace’s Ben-Hur: A Tale of the Christ has captivated and enthralled millions around the world—both in print and on the big screen. Now Lew’s great-great-granddaughter has taken the old-fashioned prose of this classic novel and breathed new life into it for today’s audience.

Coming to theaters in August 2016 as Ben-Hur, a major motion picture from MGM and Paramount studios, the story follows Judah Ben-Hur, a Jewish nobleman whose childhood friend Messala betrays him. Accused of trying to murder the new Roman governor in Jerusalem, Judah is sentenced to the galley ships and vows to seek revenge against the Romans and Messala. But a chance encounter with a carpenter from Nazareth sets Judah on a different path.

Rediscover the intrigue, romance, and tragedy in this thrilling adventure.

Also included: the inspiring story-behind-the-story of Lew Wallace—Indiana lawyer, author, and Civil War general.

This book was provided by the publisher for review purposes, but all opinions are my own.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Reviews

Leave a Reply

