The birds of the field

Flock_of_Birds_sky_bokeh__13__JPG_800x600Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? (Matthew 6:26, NLT)

I just watched a flock of birds flit between several trees next to my place, including the tree right outside my kitchen window. I was caught up in their beauty and grace, thinking of the first verse of a favourite hymn, How Great Thou Art:

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder,
Consider all the worlds Thy hands have made;
I see the stars, I hear the rolling thunder,
Thy power throughout the universe displayed.

And then I noticed the birds were feeding on the berries left on “my” tree. God’s provision is evident even as winter has officially begun and it seems all is sleeping under cover of the snow. There is life still here in winter, as much as I malign the season for its cold temperatures and the fact that it is just not spring…

What I cannot see in the spiritual world for provision is also waiting for discovery – I may think that a certain season of life doesn’t hold much for me, yet it could be brimming with lessons and encouragement and hope, if I would wait expectantly and keep my eyes open.

What is God waiting to give us, holding out His hands with abundant treasures?

Taste and see that the Lord is good. Oh, the joys of those who take refuge in him! (Psalm 34:8, NLT)

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Faith

Leave a Reply

