T minus 1 day

I’m not sure why I’ve never thought of the origin of the phrase “t minus” before, but I decided to check Wikipedia this time. Here’s the opening paragraph on countdowns:

A countdown is a sequence of backward counting to indicate the time remaining before an event is scheduled to occur. NASA commonly employs the term “T-minus” during the preparation for and anticipation of a rocket launch, and even “E-minus” for events that involve spacecraft that are already in space, where the “T” could stand for “Test” or “Time”, and the “E” stands for “Encounter”, as with a comet or some other space object. Other events for which countdowns are commonly used include the detonation of an explosive, the start of a race, the start of the New Year, or any anxiously anticipated event. An early use of a countdown once signaled the start of a Cambridge University rowing race. The first known association with rockets was in the 1929 German science fiction movie Die Frau im Mond (English: Woman in the Moon) written by Thea von Harbou and directed by Fritz Lang in an attempt to increase the drama of the launch sequence of the story’s lunar-bound rocket.

Interesting! And I had no idea there’s also a Canadian music producer with the name T-Minus. (I love Wikipedia for taking me down rabbit trails when I have the time. I’m going to leave the countdown information page open so I can learn about this fellow Canadian later.)

I have my 40-week appt this morning (and eek! I mistyped that as 50-week at first, bad typo!) and will try to keep my mind occupied the rest of the day to avoid thinking about the fact that Baby is stubbornly staying put. 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Family

Leave a Reply

