Author Spotlight: Susan May Warren

Before I post my review of Take a Chance on Me, I have some fun extras to give you! First, here’s a little Q&A with author Susan May Warren. 🙂

What lessons or truths will your readers find in the pages of this novel?
This book is for the person who feels they just can’t get past the anger they have for someone else to live in joy again. It’s for parents who see their children making bad choices and don’t know where to turn. It’s for people who believe that no one will ever really love them because of who they are, or the things they’ve done. It’s for people who need the courage to take a second chance on love and faith and family. I’m hoping readers walk away with a sense of how much God loves them, and that yes, He can heal the angry and broken-hearted.

How do you expect this new series to resonate with your audience? How do you want your books to
make them feel?
Great question! I love a story that brings me on an emotional journey from anger to laughter to hope. But most of all, I want readers to be wrapped up in joy, that feeling we get when watch our football team win, or when we’re hands up in a convertible on a hot summer day, or digging our feet into a sandy beach, or hugging our loved one when they return home. Ah. The sense that, just for a moment, all is right in the world and everything tastes and feels delicious. I write
romances, and in the end it’s worth the journey to the happily ever after.

As a writer, what did you particularly enjoy about crafting this story?
I loved Darek’s transformation. His relationship with his son is so precious, but when he truly lets go of his anger, he becomes the hero I always knew he could be. I love writing about broken heroes who find healing.

What advice do you have for budding novelists?
Read! Then write the book you’d like to read. 🙂 But, along the way, learn the craft. In fact, a good writer never stops learning.

What is the best advice or encouragement that you have received?
Just keep writing. If you want to be a career novelist, you just have to keep writing.

In your writing career, what are you most proud of?
After over forty novels, I’m always striving to keep the stories fresh and unique; so I guess I’m proud that every book is bathed in prayer, has a message singular to that story, and has unique characters and journeys. Every story is a new adventure for me, and the reader.

Coming up next… a taste of Chapter 1 from Take a Chance on Me!

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Leave a Reply

