Review: Troublesome Creek (Jan Watson)

This novel was the iVillage Christian Bookshelf‘s September Book of the Month.

While I loved Skip Rock Shallows, a recent book from this author, I had a hard time with her first novel. I think the flashbacks that filled in her parents’ history actually drew me away from the main character rather than giving me a clearer picture of her personality. I just didn’t get back to a deep interest in her or her story, and in the end I didn’t care about any of the characters enough to continue reading to the end. I would still recommend her writing despite my problems with this particular book.

Born and raised in the hills of Kentucky, Laura “Copper” Grace thinks nothing could drag her off her beloved mountain. But when her stepmother threatens to send her away to boarding school, Copper faces losing all that’s precious to her. Will she discover the true meaning of “home”–and God’s plans for her life?

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Reviews

Leave a Reply

