Review: Messenger (Lois Lowry)

Read-a-thon book #1

I meant to read Gathering Blue first, but left the book in an unhandy spot this morning, so I grabbed Messenger instead. The covers refer to these as companion novels and not sequels, leaving me to hope that I won’t mind reading them in this order!

Anyway… I enjoy Lowry’s writing. There’s mystery in uncovering the world she’s created and I like discovering what’s actually happening as I continue to read. I would have added a bit to the ending (as the reading discussion guide suggests with a question about how the reader would end the story with a “secret chapter” of their own) but I did think it was a good story all the way through.

For the past six years, Matty has lived in Village and flourished under the guidance of Seer, a blind man, known for his special sight. Village was a place that welcomed newcomers, but something sinister has seeped into Village and the people have voted to close it to outsiders. Matty has been invaluable as a messenger. Now he must make one last journey through the treacherous forest with his only weapon, a power he unexpectedly discovers within himself.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Reviews

Leave a Reply

