Review: Breaking Dawn (Stephenie Meyer)

I re-read this book after seeing the movie (Part 1, that is) and also getting the pocketbook to complete my collection. I definitely liked the first half of the book more than its movie version – more time spent on setting up the atmosphere, more depth to the tale, etc. (Somehow the filmmakers just miss out on capturing the emotion, like they’re just skimming the surface of the novel. Frustrating!)

I’ve taken a break for a while in terms of vampire novels and most other paranormals, so that may have had a bit of impact on my reaction to the tale. I wasn’t as enthusiastic about reading the book and zipping through it. I kinda wanted to get the re-read over so I could move on to something else. And yet I did find that I enjoyed the second half of the book best, once Bella is changed and begins to find her new and old identities merge. I like that she begins to like herself and there’s less self-bashing than when she was human. (Typical teen feelings but annoying after three and a half books. ) I also love the character of Renesmee (though I’m not a fan of the name, too bad she didn’t go with Vanessa in the first place LOL). And the resolution gets a thumbs-up from me – it had enough action but I’m cool with peace in the end! (I remember that being a bit of a debate when the book came out.)

Overall, decent book and definitely a good ending to the series. I wouldn’t be averse to another series or a fifth novel someday that shows us what “Nessie” is like in about 7 years when she’s all grown-up…

The astonishing conclusion to the Twilight Saga, Breaking Dawn illuminates the secrets and mysteries of this spellbinding romantic epic that has entranced millions. Now that Bella has made her decision to join the dark but seductive world of immortals, a startling chain of unprecedented events is about to unfold with potentially devastating, and unfathomable, consequences. Just when the frayed strands of Bella’s life-first discovered in Twilight, then scattered and torn in New Moonand Eclipse-seem ready to heal and knit together, could they be destroyed… forever?

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Reviews

Leave a Reply

