Early NaNoWriMo wrap-up post

Here’s my “NaNo Fail” post, or “Why I can’t blame just the toddler.” πŸ˜‰

I wasn’t motivated this year beyond the first few days. Starting the 250-word challenge showed me that I prefer a slower and more consistent way of writing, plus I like to reward myself for writing that isn’t a novel – shorter pieces, which I seem to be enjoying because of the “quick payoff” of the thrill from finishing a project; blog posts, ie. the ones requiring thought and editing, not just YouTube videos and links to share; and snail mail letters, a potential “dying art.” Life isn’t just novels and I believe I’m ready to acknowledge that. πŸ˜‰

Still, I didn’t get a lot of writing done this month for various reasons. The toddler isn’t sleeping as well as before (looks like teething, hopefully the last of it) and that caused my brain to be a bit slower with less rest. But there was also avoidance on my part – I wanted to read rather than write or I’d rather take care of the to-do list of housework because some sick part of me loves to clean. πŸ˜‰

I haven’t typed up any of the handwritten “tidbits” yet, but I’m quite confident I didn’t hit the 10K mark this November. I’m okay with that as far as the NaNo challenge goes, but I’m ready to whip myself back into shape on the everyday writing front. I will write 250 words per day, six days per week, for as many months as I can find words. (Somehow I doubt that will be a problem. I believe writing is like a muscle that grows stronger with use.) And then I hope to increase that daily goal to 500 and later 750 words. (We’ll leave the 1,000-word goal out of this discussion until I’m a far better manager of my time.)

And I’ve almost doubled the word goal for the day with my blogging. As the toddler says, “Ta da!”

2 Comments

Filed under Blog, Writing

2 responses to “Early NaNoWriMo wrap-up post

  1. Fair enough, maybe next year…

    Hey, 10,000 words is a pretty hefty short story! πŸ™‚

    Good luck with the 250 a day challenge. I’m probably up for that, but with my track record I better force myself to do a “edit 250” a day challenge, because now I will have ‘unfinished draft number 3’ sitting on my desk come December 1st.

    Like

  2. I’m sure there’s nothing wrong with turning it into an editing challenge since that gets you to focus on one aspect of writing. And once you’ve turned those three drafts into polished stories (or any time in between) you can do the new-writing side of things.

    My output for the month was several short stories, most of them just begun and not finished. Since they’re short projects, that shouldn’t be too hard to deal with once I’ve done my typing. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

