Camp NaNoWriMo, Day 1

Welcome to camp! My paranormal romance is feeling a little futuristic already, but that’s all right, I’ll just see where it goes. And even the sentences that don’t work well will stay at this point – no scribbling them out, just strikethrough. (This not only helps the total word count, it forces me to move on instead of polishing one darn paragraph over and over or leaving the writing for another day because it isn’t flowing perfectly. I suspect all aspiring writers dream it will just come out now problem when they sit down with pen and paper or their computers, but it doesn’t work that way for me!)

No idea of word count as yet because I was outside with a notebook as the boys played. I wonder if I can get away with typing every couple days and checking my word count for any necessary catch-up. I’m not expecting to write entirely by hand, but I will use whatever method is most convenient, so there may be some dictation this month, too.

All right, back at it!

3 Comments

Filed under Blog, Writing

3 responses to “Camp NaNoWriMo, Day 1

  1. Good for you! My day 1 was far less impressive. I spent it at Canada Day celebrations so I did… NOTHING! LOL The book I have my nose is is very good, however…

    You know, words are words, if you count them by hand it’d still count. You’d have to cheat a bit on the 31st and submit an equivalent sized document to validate, but you would still win honestly! 🙂

    I still need to learn how to strike out words. Looks very cool on the screen.

    Like

    • Becca

      I love strike-through when I’m typing, now I just need to see if I can find a faster way to do it, a keyboard shortcut or something. (Otherwise, in OpenOffice it’s Format, Character, then choose Single or Double on the Strikethrough drop-down).

      I didn’t make the daily goal (1,612 this time, yay for an extra day in the month!) but I remember having some bad days in November, especially when I had a cold, so I know we can make up days by having some great ones here and there. Now get to it! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

