Working out in 2011, St. Patrick’s Day edition

Happy “proud to be Irish” day! πŸ˜‰

I’ve made some changes recently with my workout plans, deciding to focus on trainer-generated workouts since I felt the 9-week program was wearing me out and no longer enjoyable. What’s the point of exercise if you don’t want to do it? πŸ˜‰

There are five types of workouts to choose from, so I’m either doing one each weekday or doubling up on the fourth day if I can’t seem to fit in some Wii time on another day. I can also rotate which days I do each type, so if I’m not feeling up to cardio or lower body one day – and those seem to be the toughest for me – I have a little wiggle room.

So far I’m either choosing the 10-15 min duration or 15-20 min if I feel energetic and confident about the workout focus. (Upper body seems the easiest for me and full body is a good balance, so it doesn’t feel as difficult usually.)

I like this change so far, but I do want to go back to the 9-week program at some point. Maybe there should be an option to complete one phase of the program, do trainer-generated workouts and then attack the next phase when you’ve built up more strength and endurance? Those other workouts are long and tough!

And now to today’s workout: 15 min lower body, with the metal ABBA tribute CD as the soundtrack. πŸ˜€ Boxing was probably the most fun exercise of them all, but I’m proud to say I did well on the long fitness trail run and the single arm plank. (Very tough for me!)

And the exercise was done by 10 am, so there’s plenty of time for a walk if it’s not too chilly. It’s sunny out there, anyway. πŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Leave a Reply

