NaNoWriMo, Day 1

NaNo is easier to type, and Nano even more so. Don’t be surprised if I get lazy and use those ways to refer to my writing this month. 🙂

I’d like to try dictation this month, and my MP3 player is more comfortable to me than the external mic I have for my computer, so that’s how I started NaNo this morning. I brainstormed about the plot of the new project and its prequel, my “never-ending WIP.”

Still have to see if I can find an easy-to-use program that would take the file from the player and convert it to text without the need for me to transcribe.

If that doesn’t work out, there’s certainly nothing wrong with my usual methods: either typing directly into the OpenOffice file (and no, I don’t own Word ’cause I think paying for Windows is quite enough money spent on Microsoft products ;)) or writing by hand and then typing later. I certainly have preferred the feel of pen and paper in the past, but I wanted to find out if dictation would be easier for me to achieve on busy days and with two kidlets.

I actually ended up using Ben’s naps as my writing time today, so I could have been sitting this morning, at the computer or with a notepad in hand. Instead, I stood at the counter where I keep my laptop during the day (away from little hands) and stared at a few notes I’d written when I decided to sign up for NaNo. And I just talked, brainstorming and trying to get into the groove.

This afternoon, I sat on the couch with my laptop – blanket and tea handy for comfort – and typed. I’m at 500 words without my notes from this morning (which could be another 1,000, depending on how fast I talked and whether I repeated my thoughts at all). Not the best start, and certainly not as good as the 2,749 I thought I had when I was looking at the “characters” stat instead of the word count. (Duh.) Hopefully it’s a slow-ish start that will work up to a regular 1,700+ per day.

As with many sequels I’ve read, this one takes two of the minor characters from the first story and continues on with their lives, expanding the reader’s knowledge of them. I’m getting to know them more as I begin this tale, and I’m hoping that the insights I’m getting will flow even faster each day that I work on the story, so that the word count goes up and up and up! 🙂

And now I need to prepare supper. Once it’s in the oven, I’ll have 45 mins to clean the kitchen and possibly check on a few message boards. I think I should try for more writing tonight. No harm trying to cram a little time here, a little time there and find out what works best for NaNo and beyond.

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog, Writing

Leave a Reply

