It’s a Jane Austen afternoon here

I’m sure it’s no surprise to those who know how much I like Jane Austen’s novels that I’m watching movie adaptations today. I started with 2007’s “Northanger Abbey” and now I’ve got the 1995 “Persuasion” running.

I love how Jane’s wit is captured so well in NA, and the actress is perfect for Catherine’s innocence and ignorance.

And with “Persuasion,” Anne’s plainness (at least according to her sisters and father) and kind nature are portrayed very well. The natural light of the filming makes it feel quite real, too. Not that I don’t enjoy the “slick” productions of some of the other novels…

Next time I should just grab the novel off the bookshelf rather than pop in the DVD, shouldn’t I? 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Blog

Leave a Reply

