Timeless

Change is inevitable in life, so it’s comforting when the odd thing stays the same. I thought of this as I caught part of the local radio station’s “Labour Day 500 top songs” today. When Sarah McLachlan’s “Possession” came on (somewhere in the 190 range of the countdown, I believe) I got shivers listening to it – and after I’d just been thinking my car was a bit warm and I might need to put on the air conditioning.

I’m glad the song still affects me as much as it did when I first heard it (on “Due South,” if you’re curious). It can be sad to realise that a much-beloved movie or book from one’s childhood is just so-so now.

Next time you’re wondering what music to check out, go into the past just a little and listen to Sarah McLachlan’s early CDs. Pretty good stuff!

Comments Off on Timeless

Filed under Blog

Comments are closed.